Results roundup:

In the semi-final of the County Knockout, JAGGER bt TAHSEEN, and then went on to beat MILMAN by the narrowest of margins. They went on to come fourth in the Pachabo.

CURTIN bt RILEY in the County Plate final.

Saffron Walden represented the County in the Garden Cities regional final at Peterborough, but just missed out on qualifying for the final.

The County has had a poor start to the Eastern Counties League, losing both opening matches, against Beds. and Suffolk; the green point awards so far being of no interest!

Nationally, there was strong representation in the U25 final, Wade/Zivan winning, Jagger (but not your editor, who is a more likely contender for the seniors) second, and Greig/Zakrzewski third. There was a disappointing set of results at the EBU Spring Congress, best being Jagger winning the B final of the pairs. Rather more was achieved at the EBU Summer Congress (Brighton); Young/Jagger were 7th in the pairs, Woodruff 4th in the Four Star Teams, and Young/Jagger/Jagger won the Brighton Bowl. In the Chairman's Cup, Sweden, Young/Jagger made the semifinals. In the Coventry Congress, Young, Deacon, Milman, Stelmashenko won the swiss teams event.

Whilst some people have already played their first round matches for 2000/01 NICKO, the Cambridge Club are still awaiting their final for the 1999/2000 season, against Bradford.

Master Point Update

Congratulations to John Young who came third in the national ranking lists for most masterpoints won (he also came second in terms of Green points only). Fiske Warren in now getting perilously close to becoming Grand Master - will he be next in the County?

The category prizes for the County are as follows:

Star masters, tournament masters: P Morgan

County masters - advanced masters: P Last

Up to District masters: J Harrison

Around the Clubs


Evans Handicap Cup (Autumn)

1. Sybil Attwood & Angela Allin 70.45%

2. Emile Habib & John Pearce 69.89%

Evans Handicap Cup (Spring)

1. Peter Morgan & Malcolm McBryde 74.83%

2. Haydn Emery & Sheila Emery 65.25%

Championship Pairs

1. Kiki Allen & David Allen 61.31%

2. Peter Morgan & Malcolm McBryde 59.60%

Club Teams Championship (Crompton Cup)

Kiki Allen, David Allen, Peter Morgan, Malcolm McBryde beat Jimmy Cheung, Jim Fisher, Barrie Harrison, Mary Harrison

STOP PRESS: Cambridge Club win NICKO by 6 IMPs! Congratulations to Chris Jagger, Catherine Jagger, John Young and Ed Linfield.